Open DCL vs DCL

Started by mailmaverick, November 26, 2013, 11:58:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mailmaverick

Hi All,

I have just joined in this forum. Firstly, my greetings to all.

I have been using AutoLISP for the past 6 months and have made some small programs for my personal use. I have heard that DCL is the programming language for making forms in LISP. Beyond that I know nothing about DCL.
My queries are :-
1.) What exactly is DCL and what are its other uses ?
2.) What is Open DCL ? How is it different from DCL ?
3.) Which is better : Open DCL or DCL ? If i have to start learning, which should i learn ?

Please forgive me if any of my questions seem stupid.

Peter2

Hi

DCL is Dialogue Control Language, which is an old and stable way to define dialogue boxes. It is fully integrated into and documented in AutoCAD, and you need nothing else than a (simple) editor to write the DCL-code: no external features, no DLLs, no problems with x32 or x64 or the different AutoCAD versions. DCL runs from AutoCAD 14 / Win 98 to AutoCAD 2014 / Win 7 (8??) .... It offers you (nearly) all that you need: edit boxes, check boxes, pulldown, slides, button, ..
There were and are many examples what can be done with it.

The disadvantage is that is limited with its (graphic)-function - no color, no images, no folder-tree, ... and to write and create the code is "good old fashioned" coding (no funny drag and drop ...).

OpenDCL replaces DCL and offers features and an IDE "state-of-the-art". What it offers can be seen on its homepage and here in some forum examples. But is is a "modern software" - you have to consider which AutoCAD-version and which processors you (and your users) are using.

What to learn?
Maybe both.
Compare the pros and cons, consider what you will create (at first small things, later bigger ones ..) and where it will be used - and take a look at both solutions.
Peter
ODCL 8.1.... German, AutoCAD 2017 - 2018, Win 7 x64, Win 10

mailmaverick

Hi Peter,