Citrix server

Started by Danner, October 13, 2011, 07:28:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Danner

Hi,

Does anyone have any thoughts about installing and running an OpenDCL/lisp application through a remote Citrix server? I have no experience of this setup and am presuming (perhaps wrongly) there is no local Autocad install at all. 

See http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/item?siteID=123112&id=13959101

Any thoughts about whether it is possible? Any potential pitfalls? Anything else? I am completely ignorant about this sort of set up.

Many thanks in anticipation.

owenwengerd

In such a setup, both AutoCAD and OpenDCL would be installed on the server, and should work fine from a technical standpoint. The problem is that the AutoCAD EULA prohibits this sort of thing.

Danner

Thanks Owen, good to know.

Danner

Hi Owen,

I can confirm that the Runtime is indeed working on Citrix.  (Apparently it is legit, Autodesk wise).

The only thing which seems to fail  are HTML controls/connecting to the internet which is a shame. 

The server is running Microsoft Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard Edition, 64-bit (build 7600).

Any thoughts or bright ideas greatly appreciated.

Cheers

owenwengerd

Quote from: Danner on April 12, 2013, 06:12:40 AM
The only thing which seems to fail  are HTML controls/connecting to the internet which is a shame.

Is the problem that your server does not have an internet connection, or do you think it's a problem with OpenDCL's internet access implementation?

Danner

Hi Owen,

The Citrix administrator has responded as follows:

"Yes they have an internet connection but if they are trying to reach something specific and direct it may become an issue as we use a proxy."

Danner

Citrix Administrator has added:

"Is there a way to get it to use IE settings so it picks up the proxy details?"

Danner