Author Topic: Runtime or Studio  (Read 7662 times)

Kelie

  • Local Language Project Manager
  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 99
Runtime or Studio
« on: June 17, 2009, 09:42:32 PM »
I vaguely remember seeing somewhere about avoiding installing both the runtime and the studio on the same computer. Is that true? So for those who need the studio for programming, they should not install the runtime? What problem will it cause? Thanks.

owenwengerd

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3063
    • Outside The Box
Re: Runtime or Studio
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2009, 10:36:29 PM »
Since Studio already includes the runtime, it is not neccessary to install the runtime separately -- but doing so should not cause any problems.

BazzaCAD

  • OpenDCL Webmaster
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 853
  • Cylons will kill you
    • OpenDCL
Re: Runtime or Studio
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2009, 09:54:26 AM »
Owen, are you able to update the download page: https://sourceforge.net/project/platformdownload.php?group_id=187950
with a note stating that the Studio also installs the Runtime & it doesn't need to be installed separately?
Or is it a hardcoded SourceForge page....
a.k.a.
Barry Ralphs
barryDOTralphsATgmailDOTcom

Kelie

  • Local Language Project Manager
  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 99
Re: Runtime or Studio
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2009, 10:28:51 AM »
Thanks.

owenwengerd

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3063
    • Outside The Box
Re: Runtime or Studio
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2009, 06:48:56 PM »
Owen, are you able to update the download page: https://sourceforge.net/project/platformdownload.php?group_id=187950
with a note stating that the Studio also installs the Runtime & it doesn't need to be installed separately?
Or is it a hardcoded SourceForge page....

The text at the top can be customized, but since there is no mention of the runtime on that page, I think mentioning yet another file would just confuse matters.

Kelie

  • Local Language Project Manager
  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 99
Re: Runtime or Studio
« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2009, 12:16:26 AM »